Angel Beats! Ep. 13 END

June 26, 2010

I didn’t write about the last couple episodes, but that’s mostly because I kind of rage quit. All the plot twists and drama were too forced for me, and the series was kind of incoherent. It was nice, but I still just couldn’t really write about it. But I felt I should write about the last one because it is the last one, and because it was rather sweet too. Yuri wakes up 3 days later, and everyone has left except for Hinata, Naoi, Kanade, and Otonashi. Yuri and Kanade both act much differently, and much girlier (Yuri is tsundere and Kanade wrote a song about Mapo Tofu). I suppose because Yuri has no more regrets, doesn’t have to play the protective sister, she can finally be a regular girl, and Kanade has friends. It’s really rather pleasant to see them finally relaxing. It suits their end that it would be as a graduation ceremony (which was Kanade’s idea) It was a pretty sweet moment when they all walked up to get their diplomas, and when they said goodbye to each other. Each goodbye was a real tear jerker, like Naoi, who decided to leave first so as to not see any tears, yet ends up crying himself. I sort of thought that Otonashi and Yuri would be the last together, so I was surprised when he actually ends up last with Kanade. I was even more surprised when Otonashi told Kanade to stay there in the world with him, so they could help more people. And yet again, when he confesses to her, which I just thought was wonderful (I’m too soft) although I was kind of confused, since it was so sudden. When did he start loving her, and why? Well whatever, Kanadefag is pleased. KEY is absolutely unmerciful with all these tearjerkers, like Kanade revealing her regret of never being able to thank Otonashi for donating his heart which saved her life. That was pretty much the breaking point for even that most hardboiled man, and the scene with both of them hugging, Otonashi saying “I love you” and Kanade saying “Thank You”, was what everyone was pretty much hoping for with this series (it is KEY after all) I was pretty disappointed that Kanade and left Otonashi there alone. But I was happy to see that they become reunited when Otonashi finds Kanade (both of them in a new life) and he runs up to her, and so I can only assume that everyone else will find each other as well.  I’m afraid the series was rather disappointing, but I think I expected too much since it is a KEY work. But I really felt they could have done some things differently. I would have liked more character development, and a more coherent story, instead of the constant plot twists and their tendency to completely drop one thing for another (Ok let’s help everyone pass on, OH FUCK SHADOW MONSTERS) The show really did have much potential and perhaps I’m a bit too harsh. It’s still worth watching, since it’s not that long, and it can be rather nice at times. It was a nice ending and a pretty good show I suppose. Hell of a lot better than K-ON, I’ll tell you that. I always get a sad feeling whenever a series end, and Angel Beats was no exception. It may have been an incoherent mess at times, but we’ll all miss Kanade.

Leave a Reply

